Western Sahara

Government: Disputed territory
Capital: Layun
Population: 0.6 million (2017)
Religion: Islam
Language: Arabic, French, Spanish

Western Sahara is a disputed territory claimed by both Morocco og The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR), led by the independence movement Polisario. 85 % of the disputed territory is controlled by Morocco. Moroccan authorities consider Western Sahara to be a Moroccan province, and accordingly, the area is part of the Moroccan administrative structure, and follows Moroccan legislation. For topics such as legislation, documents, health issues, etc., see the Morocco section on this website.